Cooking in an apron…

that’s what my great grandmother did. Not me. There’s no reason for cooking in this day and age with an apron on. Wrong! Betty Crocker sent me an apron to use when making their cookies a while back. I used it. Since then I have repeatedly used it. It has saved so many of my shirts. I don’t often make fried chicken but when I do I definitely put an apron on. Grease spots do not come out of clothes. Made spaghetti last night…I love spaghetti (recipe to follow) and my entire family devours spaghetti. Tomato sauce is another one that will really ruin your clothes. So I guess I’m no longer a believer that aprons are from the 1950’s and no one wears them anymore. I do. I’m not ashamed to admit it. I am a proud apron wearer. Do you wear an apron when you cook? There’s a few cute sites that are making over the apron so you might want to google it.

Spaghetti Sauce Recipe

Ingredients

3 garlic cloves

half an onion

tsp sugar

1 tsp italian seasoning

2 16oz cans crushed tomatos

3/4 cup merlot (I used Les Fitch)

1lb ground turkey

1lb ground pork

Instructions

Cook ground pork and turkey in a cast iron skillet with onion until browned. Add crushed tomatoes, grate the garlic cloves (or mince them well), my grater looks like this one and you might want to get one, it’s a zester too…I love it! I digress,  add the tsp of sugar and simmer for 30 minutes.  Cook noodles according to package directions (I did half whole wheat and half dreamfield boiled for 8 minutes). Combine noodles and sauce and plate up. We always top our spaghetti with real parmigiana cheese (the actual cheese is not much more than what is in the green can and the actual cheese is so much better for you!). It makes it taste so good. Serve with warm crusty bread. Yummm.

I’ve been using my grandmother’s cast iron skillets alot lately…they were the original stick proof pans. Cast iron with tomato sauce gives a great way to transport iron into your body as well. It’s a win win! Let me know if you try this recipe and what you think.

**This is my recipe I usually just eyeball everything. If it is similar to your recipe it is coincidence.

Leave a Reply: We love to hear from you!

